leap of faith

What I don’t understand is the people who try to convince me of some Christian position by saying “It’s in the Bible!” Ok, but… “But it’s the word of God” they say. And? Just because you believe that I’m supposed to? It’s not that easy and expecting it to be is insulting to my intelligence.

Look, the Bible is a great book – but it takes a leap of faith to sincerely believe that everything (or even most things) in it are complete truth. I will reiterate that I have no problem with people believing wholeheartedly in the Bible. However, one cannot logically use that as an argument for understanding the why’s and how’s of the Christian faith. That would assume that EVERYONE believes the same thing.

There has to be another level to the debate, there has to be a way to talk about it (Christianity and religion in general) without assuming the other person is wrong because they do or don’t believe. I often get people quoting the Bible to me when I explain a position that I have trouble understanding or believing. That is just not helpful if I have not made the same leap of faith. And not that I don’t want to, I’m just not there yet – may never be. Some tend to assume I just haven’t tried and therefore don’t “get it”. Never a fair assumption, that the other person is just not as smart as you are.

The “it’s in the Bible” arguments are a complete turn off. It’s like having a door slammed in your face, while the person doing the slamming is smiling. That may not be the intention, but that’s what’s conveyed. The explicit truth of the Bible and God are not things we can prove or disprove so they cannot be used as THE justification.

4 thoughts on “leap of faith

  1. kimmie827 says:

    I have been trying to read parts of the bible, since I know nothing about it, but I agree that a book that can not be proven as true can not be used to prove something else (God). Its up to the readers interpretation.
    The problem is, when people built their entire way of life on the bible, they can not admit what you have pointed out, because then they are giving doubt to themselves. Most Christians need to shield themselves from any doubt to continue to truly believe, so they close their ears off to any reasoning.
    Its frustrating, but try feeling sorry for them, that their spiritual growth is so stunted that their relationship with God can not exist beyond a book, if that book were proven to be untrue.
    Just my opinion though. =)

  2. Jodi says:

    It’s so true. The thing is, I know there are some people whose faith doesn’t hing on the bible being absolutely true – I just can’t hear them through all the noise it seems like.

  3. Hi Jodi,

    I hopped on over from your comment on my blog and I must say you are exactly in the same position I’m in now and I’m also aware that I’ve just now started investigating the Quaker faith and finding that it resonates strongly with me too. I have a close, close friend who will be visiting a meeting house soon and I’m looking forward to knowing how that goes. I don’t believe there is a meeting house close to where I live.

    I am intrigued by your story and your blog and I’m looking forward to reading more of it! Blessings!

  4. Jodi says:

    Thank you. I do feel lucky to have a Quaker meeting house so close. Good luck in your journey – I look forward to having company on the virtual road!

Leave a Reply

