my early christmas present

Finally Facebook has proved itself useful! Last night, a childhood friend reached out who I haven’t seen in probably 15 years plus. We were inseparable in elementary school. I was so thrilled to hear from her. She looked fantastic, married with a new baby, what an exciting time in her life. My excitement on reconnecting with her made me ponder. After all the gifts are exchanged in a few days, I know nothing I get will give me the same warm, wonderful feeling as hearing from my old friend. The absolute absence of expectation, of getting something I didn’t even know I wanted, is so wonderful. Often, after all the gifts are ripped open on Christmas, the first thing my kids say is “I’m bored!” Of course, the anticipation is so much more exciting than the gift itself. The lack of anticipation makes the getting so much more wonderful. I’m still smiling about my friend, thank you for such a wonderful gift!

Leave a Reply

