progress

I’ve been going through the list of 2008 Weblog Awards for Best Religion Blog. Check out the whole list, because it’s a great way to catch up on something you may have missed.

Working my way down the Religion list, I went to Christianblog.com. It was new to me, but looked interesting. Just click to sign up, no problem. Then I hit a snag. To sign up, I would have to agree to a statement. Below is the quote from the site.

ChristianBlog.Com is a website strictly reserved for those who know they are a Child of God (aka: a Christian.)

We do not believe it is possible for us (or for anybody) to define what a “Christian” is or is not, other then to quote Romans 10:9, which says, “if you will confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved”.

If you feel that is you and you are being honest with yourself then we stand on the Holy Word of God that you and God have worked out your Salvation and we feel you have the right to become a member of ChristianBlog.Com

I have no issue with their asking this of potential members. Certainly, if you want a blog to discuss Christianity, it would be quite normal for those members to believe that “Jesus is Lord…”. Problem is, I couldn’t do it. I could not agree to this very simple statement that quite naturally defines a Christian. I do not know for certain that Jesus is Lord, that God raised him from the dead for my sake.

I was surprised actually, by how quickly I came to the conclusion that I couldn’t sign it. I didn’t twing, didn’t feel any pangs of guilt, it was just a matter of honesty for me. Maybe I’m getting somewhere in this journey after all…best of luck to you on the christianblog, I’ll be surfing elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

